User notification should be disabled

From Support
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Edited by author.
Last edit: 20:36, 16 March 2018

MediaWiki now also notifies users if their name is in the "summary" field. https://meta.wikimedia.org/wiki/Community_Tech/Ping_users_from_the_edit_summary

Though, we really don't want to notify the previous author each time we revert a vandalism…

Therefore, the message MediaWiki:Revertpage/en should be updated from:

Reverted edits by [[Special:Contributions/$2|$2]] ([[User talk:$2|talk]]) to last revision by [[User:$1|$1]]

To:

Reverted edits by [[Special:Contributions/$2|$2]] ([[User talk:$2|talk]]) to last revision by [[:User:$1|$1]]
Od1n (talk)15:38, 16 March 2018

This is currently discussed on Phabricator: https://phabricator.wikimedia.org/T189819

Od1n (talk)16:45, 16 March 2018
 

Regardless of the fixing in Echo, I feel we could add the colon there as well for the future. But that's for a Phabricator ticket as well if people agree.

MarcoAurelio (talk)16:00, 17 March 2018